Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\* 重慶機電股份有限公司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 02722)

## **CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT**

Reference is made to the announcement of Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd. (the "**Company**") dated 28 August 2013 in respect of interim results for the six months ended 30 June 2013 ("**Interim Results Announcement**") of the Company and its subsidiaries (collectively, the "**Group**").

The Company hereby clarify that the total capital expenditure of the Group should be approximately RMB232.7 million instead of RMB460.9 million in the section headed "Capital Expenditure" on page 29 of the Interim Results Announcement.

The contents under the section headed "Capital Expenditure" on page 29 of the Interim Results Announcement are amended as follows:

"During the Period, the total capital expenditure of the Group was approximately RMB232.7 million, which was principally used for expansion of plants, enhancement of production technologies, upgrading of production equipment and improvement on production capacity (for the six months ended 30 June 2012: approximately RMB118.9 million)."

-1-

Save as disclosed above, all information in the Interim Results Announcement remains unchanged.

By Order of the Board Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\* Chen Xianzheng

Executive Director and Secretary to the Board

Chongqing, the PRC 29 August 2013

As at the date of the announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Wang Yuxiang, Mr. Yu Gang, Mr. Ren Yong and Mr. Chen Xianzheng; the non-executive Directors are Mr. Huang Yong, Mr. Wang Jiyu, Mr. Yang Jingpu and Mr. Deng Yong; and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Lo Wah Wai, Mr. Ren Xiaochang, Mr. Jin Jingyu and Mr. Yang Zhimin.

-2-

\* For identification purposes only