Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\* 重 慶 機 電 股 份 有 限 公 司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 02722)

## **CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT**

Reference is made to the announcement of Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd. (the "Company", together with its subsidiaries, the "Group") dated 19 March 2013 in relation to the final results of the Group for the year ended 31 December 2012 (the "Announcement").

The board of directors of the Company (the "**Board**") noted a typographical error under the paragraph headed "CLOSURE OF REGISTER OF MEMBERS" in the Announcement in relation to the latest time for deposit of transfers in order to qualify for attending the 2012 annual general meeting of the Company and would like to make clarification as follows:

"The register of members of the Company will be closed from Sunday, 19 May 2013 to Tuesday, 18 June 2013 (both days inclusive), during which period no transfer of shares will be registered. In order to qualify for attending and voting at the annual general meeting, all transfers accompanied by the relevant shares certificates must be lodged with the Company's H Share Registrars, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at Shops 1712-1716, 17th floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, 16 May 2013."

Save as disclosed above, all the information in the Announcement remains unchanged.

By Order of the Board
Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\*
Chen Xianzheng

Executive Director and Secretary to the Board

Chongqing, the PRC 19 March 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Yu Gang, Mr. Liao Shaohua, Mr. Chen Xianzheng and Mr. Xie Hua Jun; the non-executive Directors are Mr. Huang Yong, Mr. Wang Jiyu, Mr. Liu Liangcai and Mr. Yang Jingpu; and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Lo Wah Wai, Mr. Ren Xiaochang, Mr. Kong Weiliang and Mr. Jin Jingyu.

\* For identification purposes only