Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\* 重 慶 機 電 股 份 有 限 公 司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 02722)

## ANNOUNCEMENT OF ALTERATION OF RECORD DATE REGARDING FINAL DIVIDEND

Reference is made to the announcement of results for the year ended 31 December 2011 dated 20 March 2012 ("Announcement") of Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd\* (the "Company").

As stated in the Announcement, subject to approval by shareholders at the annual general meeting to be convened on Monday, 18 June 2012, the Company originally proposed that the proposed final dividend will be paid on or about 31 July 2012 to shareholders whose names appear on the Register of Members of the Company on 18 June 2012 ("**Record Date**").

The Company wishes to announce that the Record Date shall be changed to 29 June 2012. In order to ascertain the entitlements of the shareholders to receive the proposed final dividend, the register of members of the Company will be closed from Saturday, 23 June 2012 to Friday, 29 June 2012 (both days inclusive), during which period no transfer of shares will be registered. All transfer documents of the holders of H Shares of the Company must be lodged at our H Share Registrar at Hong Kong, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at Shops 1712–1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong for registration no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 22 June 2012.

By Order of the Board

Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.\*

Xie Hua Jun

Executive Director, Chairman

Chongqing, the PRC 22 March 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Xie Hua Jun, Mr. Yu Gang, Mr. Liao Shaohua and Mr. Chen Xianzheng; the non-executive Directors are Mr. Huang Yong, Mr. Wang Jiyu, Mr. Liu Liangcai and Mr. Yang Jingpu; and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Lo Wah Wai, Mr. Ren Xiaochang and Mr. Kong Weiliang.

\* For identification purposes only